University of Texas

Alpha Chapter

The University of Texas - Austin, TX

Founded 1985
President Bailey Ray • Contact Us
Pledge Captain Andrew Read • Contact Us
Social Media Facebook Twitter Instagram


In the Spring of 1985, a handful of Christian men set out to establish an alternative to the present fraternal lifestyle. This group of Christian men met and planned the “BYX Island Party” to formally announce the fraternity’s founding-the founding of Beta Upsilon Chi. It was the vision of the founding fathers to have a fraternity of committed Christian men, based on the unique brotherhood that a Christian atmosphere affords, for the purpose of fellowship and glorification of Jesus Christ. Through such events as parties, service projects, and evangelical outreaches, the charter members of Beta Upsilon Chi chose to unite in fellowship and glorify Jesus Christ on the University of Texas campus. The brothers press on toward the mark of the high Calling.


Founding Fathers

Craig Albert, Jeff Miller, Erik Bradford, Tim Miller, Michael Brown, Stuart Nolley, David Cortright, Keith Onishi, David Daniels, Steve Patrick, John Douglas, Roger Poupart, John Edson, Don Reid, Richard Foster, Brian Rynne, Jeff Garrett, Kenneth Sapp, David Givens, Garland Spiller, Steve Hoehner, Clayton Walther, Clayton Jewett, Wendel Weaver, Scott Love, John Wilson, Mark McGee, Greg Young, Tse-Horng Yu

Rush BYX

Interested in Joining the The University of Texas chapter? Contact our pledge captain, Andrew Read, to get started.