University of North Texas

Theta Chapter

University of North Texas - Denton, TX

Founded 1999
President Drew Orlich • Contact Us
Pledge Captain Brett Kuster • Contact Us
Social Media Facebook Twitter Instagram


In November of 1998, Vernell Dooley and Caleb Simpson decided there was a need for brotherhood and unity among Christian men on the campus of the University of North Texas. They decided that this purpose would be best served through a fraternity-like organization. They had heard of Beta Upsilon Chi being this sort of organization, so they investigated further. They also began asking around to see if there was an interest for this type of organization. The response was overwhelming!

By the Spring of 1999, a group of men had formed for the intent of starting a chapter of Beta Upsilon Chi at North Texas. During that Spring, they began praying about whether or not to start BYX. As they sought God’s will, they began to visit other BYX chapters around Texas to learn more about BYX. By the end of that semester, the group had visited five of the seven existing chapters. As the semester ended, the group continued to learn more about BYX, and pray that God would continue to bless them in their mission.

In the Fall of 1999, preparation for the fraternity was well under way the following semester’s rush. Then in November 1999, BYX Executive Kyle Hoover and BYX founder Wendel Weaver gave the young group of men permission to rush Spring 2000. As the Spring semester came, this group became the Theta chapter of Beta Upsilon Chi.

Founding Fathers

Richard Fackler, Michael Deroche, Vernell Dooley Jr., Daniel Hassel, Stephen Moore, Caleb Simpson, Rick Tuttle, Aleck Whaley

Rush BYX

Interested in Joining the University of North Texas chapter? Contact our pledge captain, Brett Kuster, to get started.